2021 NZTV Awards Announces Members as Winners

We are proud to see our members were among the winners of the 2021 New Zealand Television Awards. The annual event was held on March 1st and celebrated the diversity and success of Aotearoa’s television industry.

Congratulations to our members below!

Screen Auckland Best Director Drama

Max Currie (DEGANZ)
Autonomouse (Neon & NZME)

Best Factual Series

Fight for the Wild
Peter Young (DEGANZ), Tracey Roe, Dave Hansford
Fisheye Films (RNZ)

NZ On Air Best Drama Series

Bronwynn Bakker, Roseanne Liang (DEGANZ), Perlina Lau, JJ Fong, Ally Xue, Tony Ayres
Kevin & Co + Flat 3 (TVNZ 2)

We would like to further point out that DEGANZ member Jochen Fitzherbet, was one of the editors who worked on Creamerie.


The Guild would also like to extend our congratulations to the winners of the other directing and editing categories:

Best Editing: Documentary/Factual

Simon Coldrick
Six Angry Women
Kindred Films (TVNZ 1)

Best Editing Drama

Allanah Bazzard
Black Hands
Warner Bros. International Television Production New Zealand (TVNZ 1)

Best Director: Multi Camera

Wayne Leonard
36th America’s Cup Match 7
America’s Cup Events (Am. Cup website/YouTube)

Best Director: Documentary/Factual

Natalie Malcon & Thomas Robins
Heaven and Hell – The Centrepoint Story
Warner Bros. International Television Production New Zealand (TVNZ 1)


The 2021 NZTV Awards presentation was postponed from November 2021 to March 2022 and shifted to an online virtual presentation due to COVID event restrictions.

Last updated on 10 March 2022