DEGANZ Members Sweep Up 2023 NZTVAs

The New Zealand TV Awards (NZTVA) took place on 5 December, celebrating the industry’s achievements from the past year. DEGANZ was thrilled to see so many members’ mahi on productions being recognised in the finalist list, many of which went on to receive awards.

NZ On Air Best Drama

The Gone

Director: Peter Burger (Ep 3 and 6)

Best Comedy

Educators: Season 3, Episode 1

Director: Jesse Griffin

Co-Creator: Jackie van Beek

NZ On Air Best Documentary

No Māori Allowed 

Editor: Cushla Dillion

Co-Producer: Megan Jones

Best Original Reality Series

The Walkers: Season 2 Episode 3

Editor: Huhana Ruri-Panapa

Best Format Reality Series

The Restaurant That Makes Mistakes

Editors: Tibor Riddering and Steven Chow

NZ On Air Best Children’s Programme

Mystic (Season 3)

Director: Peter Burger (Ep 5-8)


The Gone, co-directed by Peter Burger (DEGANZ), took home the most awards of the evening, securing a total of five wins. Along with NZ On Air Best Drama, it won the Images & Sound Best Cinematography: Drama / Comedy Drama, the Images & Sound Best Original Score, the Best Costume Design, and the Best Makeup Design awards.

Additionally, both Inky Pinky Ponky and and Educators, directed by DEGANZ members Ramon Te Wake and Jesse Griffin respectively, received acting accolades. Sesilia Pusiaki of Inky Pinky Ponky won Best Supporting Actress, while Rick Donald of Educators earned himself the Best Supporting Actor Award.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners of the evening!

Last updated on 11 December 2023