Tag Archive for: awards

This year marks the 44th edition of the 2024 AXIS Awards, celebrating the creativity, talent, and innovation of the Aotearoa advertising industry, with DEGANZ members Luke HaighCushla Dillon, and Gaysorn Thavat shortlisted as finalists.

Luke secured four of the 11 finalist spots in the Film Craft – Editing category for the following ads:

In the same category, Cushla was recognised for editing Exit Films’ Would You Rather for Waka Kotahi (NZTA).

With the same commercial, Gaysorn was recognised for her mahi in the Film Craft – Direction category.

Congratulations Luke, Cushla, and Gaysorn!

The New Zealand Television Awards (NZTVA) announced the finalists for 2023, with over 20 DEGANZ members’ mahi receiving nominations.

Each year, the NZTVA recognise and honour the excellence, special skills, and unique talents of those working in television. This year, the awards will be held in Tāmaki Makaurau on 5 December.

Check out the DEGANZ finalists in the list below:

Screen Auckland Best Director: Drama / Comedy Drama

Jesse Griffin


South Pacific Pictures / TVNZ+ and TVNZ 2

Best Editing: Documentary or Factual

Cushla Dillon

No Māori Allowed

Kindred Films / TVNZ 1 and TVNZ+

Emma Patterson

Kids Wired Differently

Ruckus / TVNZ 1 and TVNZ+

Best Editing: Drama / Comedy Drama

Jonno Woodford-Robinson

One Lane Bridge

Great Southern Television / TVNZ 1 and TVNZ+

NZ On Air Best Drama

The Brokenwood Mysteries

South Pacific Pictures / TVNZ 1 and TVNZ+

Directors: Katie Wolfe (Ep1), David de Lautour (Ep2), and Jacqueline Nairn (Ep5)

Editor: Kerrie Roggio (Ep1 and 5)

The Gone

Kingfisher Films / Keeper Pictures / Southern Light Films / TVNZ 1 and TVNZ+

Director: Peter Burger (Ep3 and 6)

Best Comedy

Homebound 3.0: Season 1 Episode 1

Kevin & Co / Warner Bros. Discovery ANZ / ThreeNow and Three

Starring: Michelle Ang (Incubator 2020)

Educators: Season 3 Episode 1

South Pacific Pictures / TVNZ+ and TVNZ 2

Director: Jesse Griffin

Co-Creator: Jackie van Beek

NZ On Air Best Documentary

No Māori Allowed 

Kindred Films / TVNZ 1 and TVNZ+

Editor: Cushla Dillion

Best Original Reality Series

The Walkers: Season 2 Episode 3

Hi Mama Productions / TVNZ 2 and TVNZ+

Editor: Huhana Ruri-Panapa

Best Format Reality Series

The Restaurant That Makes Mistakes

Great Southern Television / TVNZ 1 and TVNZ+

Editors: Tibor Riddering and Steven Chow

The Dog House NZ 

South Pacific Pictures / TVNZ 2 and TVNZ+

Assistant Editor: Megan Robinson

NZ On Air Best Children’s Programme


Libertine Pictures & Slim Film + TV / TVNZ 2 and TVNZ+

Director: Peter Burger (Ep5-8)

NZ On Air Best Pasifika Programme

Inky Pinky Ponky: Season 1

Tikilounge Productions / The Coconet / Whakaata Māori

Co-director: Ramon Te Wake

Best Sports Programme

Scratched : Aotearoa’s Lost Sporting Legends

Hex Work Productions / The Spinoff

Field Director: Piata Gardiner-Hoskins

Best Entertainment Programme

Ka Pō, Ka Ao Rob Ruha with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra

Satellite / Whakaata Māori

Editor: Ben Chesters


It’s great to see so many familiar names on the list!

Show Me Shorts 2022 have announced the nominees for their annual Awards night. Seventeen short films were nominated across eight categories including Best Director and Best Editor. As proud sponsors of these awards, DEGANZ warmly congratulates the nominees below and we look forward to seeing your hard work screen across the country.

The Awards Night will take place at 5pm on Sunday 9 October in Auckland. Limited tickets are available (Book here)

Nominations for DEGANZ Best Director

Lina Tianyue Hu for My Daughter is Coming

A young woman reluctantly returns home to her mother, whose lifestyle she tried not to emulate, realising they are similar in many ways and that is okay.

Sean Max for Out of Service

An exhausted robot who just got off work attempts to buy a drink from a vending machine but ends up in big trouble.

Brendan Canty for Atali’i O Le Crezent (Sons of the Crezent)

With his neighbourhood under threat from gentrification, a young man recalls his youth, roots and upbringing through spoken word, memories and dance.

Nominations for DEGANZ Best Editor

Julian Currin for Manny and Quinn

An introverted shopkeeper forges a new friendship with the mystery man next door through a playful yet competitive game of dress-ups with their shop mannequins.

Richard Shaw for Breathe

A gifted twelve-year-old has developed an unorthodox healing method that propels her into conflict with her overbearing father.

Brendan Canty for Atali’i O Le Crezent (Sons of the Crezent)

The winners have been announced for the 2022 Asian Academy Creative Arts Awards, with DEGANZ members recognised.

The Asian Academy Creative Arts Awards is Asia-Pacific’s most prestigious awards for creative excellence. The best of the best from 16 nations representing the region’s content industry gather each December, in Singapore, when the Lion City hosts the annual awards.

Season 2 of Mystic won a Best Children’s Programme (One off/Series) Award. David Stubbs (DEGANZ) is the series producer, while fellow members Aidee Walker and Caroline Bell-Booth directed on the series. Meanwhile, DEGANZ members Kerri Roggio and Peter Roberts served as two of the four editors on the series.

Aidee Walker also won a Best Direction (Fiction) Award for her work on TVNZ’s Kid Sister. The series was also a national winner for Best Comedy Programme.

Episode 4, titled Albularyo, of anthology series Beyond the Veil won a Best Single Drama/Telemovie/Anthology Episode Award. Mia Maramara both wrote and directed, while editor Brendon Chan cut the episode.

Congratulations to our members!

After the sold-out screening of New Zealand’s Best 2022 short film competition, Whānau Marama: NZIFF announced the winners. DEGANZ member Bala Murali Shingade’s Perianayaki, written and produced by Shreya Gejji and edited by Shailesh Prajapati (DEGANZ) swept up two awards!

Perianayaki won the Creative New Zealand Emerging Talent Award with a cash-prize of $4,000 and the Flicks Award for Best Short Film with $7,500. Additionally, actor Jeyagowri Sivakumaran received a special mention for her vulnerable performance as the titular character. Inspired by the story of the real-world Perianayaki, the film’s heartfelt, slice-of-life narrative encourages empathy in all who watch it.

Additionally, Trees, directed by Tom Scott and Ben Bryan, won The Auckland Live Spirit of The Civic Award with a cash-prize of $4,000.

Jury member Tim Wong said, “We were ultimately drawn to two shorts at opposite ends of the spectrum of excellence: one that swung for the fences and committed to a vision, and another that grounded itself quietly yet profoundly in the everyday. Trees was striking in its confident ambition, while Perianayaki was searingly truthful, with a central performance we won’t forget.”

The Audience Award, voted for by the public, will be awarded on the closing night of the festival in Wellington on August 14. This winner will walk away with a 25% share of the box office sales from the competition’s total screenings.

Congratulations to Bala, Shailesh and the Perianayaki team and to the other finalists and winners!

Read more