Tag Archive for: annual general meeting

Headshots of DEGANZ Board Members

Directors and Editors Guild of Aotearoa New Zealand is thrilled to present our board for 2021/2022. Members elected to the board at the 2021 Annual General Meeting are:

Director Robyn Paterson, President
Director Gabriel Reid, Vice-President
Accountant Phil Gore, Treasurer

National Executive:

Director/Editor Steven Chow
Editor Annie Collins
Editor Margot Francis
Editor Francis Glenday
Director Renae Maihi
Director Howard Taylor
Director Gaysorn Thavat
Director Stallone Vaiaoga-Ioasa

We welcome Gaysorn Thavat who joins the National Executive for the first time, while Howard Taylor has accepted his automatic seat as former President.

We look forward to working with our board across a number of new and ongoing initiatives and industry issues. Furthermore, we want to say a huge thank you to our returning board members for their service during a particularly busy year last year.

Learn more about our board members

Finally, thank you to all members who voted during the AGM.

DEGANZ logo appearing as 'deganz'

At the 2021 Annual General Meeting, members voted in favour of a remit to include Aotearoa in the Guild’s name. We proudly present our new name as the Directors and Editors Guild of Aotearoa New Zealand (DEGANZ).

Subsequently, we have a new, easier to pronounce acronym (deg·anz) and a refreshed logo.

In other changes, members also passed a remit to expand the Constitution’s definition of ‘editors’ to include assistant editors. This is because the Guild has over time moved to officially support and represent assistant editors as well, explained Executive Director Tui Ruwhiu.


Nominations for President, Treasurer and other National Executive Members on the Directors & Editors Guild of NZ Board for the 2018/2019 year are now open.

Current sitting members are all eligible for re-election.

All nominations shall be signed by the proposer, seconder and nominee, all being financial members.

All nominations for the board must provide credentials and a personal statement on the objectives of the nominee for the Board.

The closing date for nomination forms to be received at the DEGNZ office is 5PM Friday 14 September 2018.

Please note that only full DEGNZ members are eligible to vote for and take up a position on the Board.

Board Nomination Form

Please complete and either scan and email to admin@deganz.co.nz or post to:

Board Nomination
Directors & Editors Guild of NZ
PO Box 47-294, Ponsonby
Auckland 1144
New Zealand


The timeframe for the election process is as follows:

24 August…………………………. Nominations open

14 September……………………. Closing date for nominations

17 September……………………. Voting Papers issued (if necessary)

21 September……………………. Voting Closed

6 October…………………………. 2018/19 Board confirmed and AGM convened


If you have any questions please contact:

Tui Ruwhiu
Executive Director
Directors & Editors Guild of NZ