Auckland – Rehearsal & Performance with Actor/Director Jackie van Beek

, ,
Rehearsal & Performance logo

The Rehearsal & Performance series provides regular opportunities for directors and actors to practise their craft. Each workshop brings in an experienced moderator to guide participants as they explore a workshop scene in groups (one director, two actors) in a safe and non-pressured environment.

DEGNZ is pleased to announce Jackie van Beek for the first Rehearsal & Performance in 2019.

When: Sat 6 April, 9am – 2pm
Where: MTG RM, 2 Kingsland Tce, Kingsland, Auckland


Jackie van BeekJackie van Beek is a New Zealand actor/writer/director. As an actor she is best known for her role as the desperate familiar in Taika Waititi and Jemaine Clement’s vampire documentary, What We Do in the Shadows, inept television producer, Pauline, in TV3s Funny Girls and the straight-talking Gloria in Australia’s Channel 7 show 800 Words.

Her first feature film, The Inland Road, premiered in competition at the 2017 Berlin Film Festival. Her second feature film The Breaker Upperers (created with co-writer/director/actor Madeleine Sami) premiered to rave reviews at SXSW, opened the Sydney Film Festival and recently sold to Netflix US. Jackie is a director on television spin-offs Wellington Paranormal (NZ) and What We Do in the Shadows (US) and is currently in post-production on Educators, an improvised comedy she co-created with Jesse Griffin and Jonny Brugh for TVNZ OnDemand.


Selected directors and actors will be expected to do some script prep beforehand. DEGNZ will provide the scene at least one week in advance.

Register your interest

Registrations close Sunday 24 March.

Spots are limited to four directors and eight actors. If your name is selected, DEGNZ will contact you directly to confirm your participation. Only members of DEGNZ and Equity NZ are eligible to register.



The Rehearsal & Performance series is hosted by Directors & Editors Guild of NZ with the support of Equity New Zealand and funding from the New Zealand Film Commission.

Last updated on 1 April 2019